As per a suggestion on the TalkBass forums, I re-ran the tests with my pink noise sample turned down around -10dB. Many pedals are not designed to accept the high level of input from my first test & will respond differently (it’s the same thing that happens when you run certain pedals in an amp’s fx loop).

This time around, I skipped the BB-1 and true bypass units, concentrating instead on testing every single brand  of pedal I had access to at the time. The graph turned out quite differently, with a couple of surprises (*cough* Ibanez and Dunlop *cough*). I owe Boss an apology (even if their pedals do start rolling off the highs around 3.5 kHz) – sorry guys!

Bypass frequency responseFinal update: A poster on TalkBass theorized about the effect of hooking up 10 Boss pedals (and their associated patch leads), so I HAD to step up to the challenge! The overall attenuation is huge, bass is rolled off below 50 Hz (bassists beware) and treble starts rolling off gently around 3 kHz (of more interest to guitarists, of course).

For the record, the pedals used were:

  • BF-2 Flanger
  • CE-2b Bass Chorus
  • CEB-3 Bass Chorus
  • DD-20 Giga Delay
  • LS-2 Line Selector
  • MT-2 Metal Zone
  • NS-2 Noise Suppressor
  • OC-2 Octave
  • PS-2 Pitch Shifter/Delay
  • RV-3 Digital Reverb/Delay
  • TR-2 Tremolo

c-

